Wesleyan 2022 Holiday Schedule

For 2022, the University will observe twelve (12) holidays given New Year’s Day is observed on December 31, 2021. Nine (9) of these occur on the following dates:

New Year’s Day (Observed) Friday December 31, 2021
Martin Luther King’s Birthday Monday January 17
Memorial Day Monday May 30
Independence Day Monday July 4
Labor Day Monday September 5
Thanksgiving Thursday November 24
Day After Thanksgiving Day Friday November 25
Christmas Eve (Observed) Friday December 23
Christmas Day (Observed) Monday December 26
New Year’s Eve (Observed) Friday December 30

Three (3) additional floating holidays are granted under the University’s holiday policy for 2022. Employees may request these holidays with supervisor approval.

Classes will be in session on Labor Day. Administrative staff who are required to work on Labor Day by their department head will receive an additional floating holiday for 2022. If required to work that day by their supervisors, union staff follow the Holiday provisions outlined in their respective union contracts.  Supervisors and department heads must receive cabinet level approval before requiring any employee to work on Labor Day.

At this time, the University plans to continue its practice of closing most offices and general operations during the Christmas – New Year’s holiday period (Friday, December 23, 2022 through Monday, January 2, 2023). Employees not required to work during this time shall use vacation, personal days, and/or floating holidays on December 27, December 28, and December 29. Offices will re-open on Tuesday, January 3, 2023.

Please contact the Human Resources Department at extension 2100 with any questions.

Leave a Comment