Wesleyan University- 2020 Holiday Schedule

The University will observe thirteen holidays in 2020. Ten of these occur on the following dates:

New Year’s Day Wednesday January 1
Martin Luther King’s Birthday Monday January 20
Memorial Day Monday May 25
Independence Day (Observed) Friday July 3
Labor Day Monday September 7
Thanksgiving Thursday November 26
Day After Thanksgiving Day Friday November 27
Christmas Eve Thursday December 24
Christmas Day Friday December 25
New Year’s Eve Thursday December 31

Three additional floating holidays, chosen by you with the approval of your department head, are also available for 2020.

Classes will be in session on Labor Day.  Administrative staff employees who are required to work on Labor Day by their department head will receive an additional floating holiday for 2020.  If required to work that day by their supervisors, bargaining unit employees should follow the provisions outlined in the “Holidays” section of their respective union contracts.  Supervisors and department heads must receive cabinet level approval before requiring any employee to work on Labor Day.

At this time, the University plans to continue to close most offices and maintenance operations during the Christmas – New Year’s holiday period (Thursday, December 24, 2020 through Friday, January 1, 2021). If you are not required to work, you may use vacation, personal days, or floating holidays on December 28, December 29 and December 30. Offices will re-open on Monday, January 4, 2021.

 Please contact the Human Resources Department at extension 2100 with any questions.

Leave a Comment